In 2006, the Boston Marathon joined the Virgin Money London Marathon, BMW BERLIN-MARATHON, Bank of America Chicago Marathon, and TCS New York City Marathon in launching the World Marathon Majors. In November 2012, the Tokyo Marathon joined the series. Athletes placing in the top five in these events are awarded points (25 for first, 15 for second, 10 for third, 5 for fourth, and 1 for fifth). Points are also awarded for performance at the IAAF World Championships Marathon and the Olympic Marathon. The World Marathon Majors Series is held over a full calendar year, starting and finishing in one city.

AWMM Series IX begins at the 2015 Tokyo Marathon and ends at the 2016 Tokyo Marathon. AWMM Series X begins at the 2016 Boston Marathon and ends at the 2017 Boston Marathon. Each series will then begin and end at the next prospective AWMM race. The Olympic Marathon and IAAF World Championships Marathons will be included in the race schedule in the years they are held.

Abbott World Marathon Majors Series

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM) series will now cycle through one year of competition and consist of the following Qualifying Races:
• Tokyo Marathon
• Boston Marathon
• Virgin Money London Marathon
• Bank of America Chicago Marathon
• TCS New York City Marathon
• Olympic Marathon
• IAAF World Championships Marathon

One-year series

AWMM Series X began at the 2016 Boston Marathon and concludes at the 2017 Boston Marathon. AWMM Series XI begins at the 2017 Virgin Money London Marathon and ends at the 2018 Virgin Money London Marathon. Each subsequent Series will begin and end at the next prospective AWMM race. The Olympic Marathon and IAAF World Championships Marathon will be included in the race schedule in the years they are held, but will not begin or end the Series.

Point system

The champions of the AWMM Series will be the male and female athletes who score the greatest number of points from Qualifying Races during the one-year scoring period. During each scoring period, points from a maximum of two Qualifying Races will be scored. An athlete must start in two Qualifying Races over the Series cycle to be eligible for the championship. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes will be scored. Points are allocated following each race as follows:

1st place: ……………….. 25 points
2nd place:………………. 16 points
3rd place………………….. 9 points
4th place:…………………. 4 points
5th place:……………………1 point

Tie Breaker

In the event of a tie in points earned at the conclusion of a Series cycle, the winner shall be determined
using the following rules (addressed in descending order):

  1. The athlete with the best head-to-head record in Qualifying Races during the Series period will be
    declared the winner. Only the fact that one athlete finished ahead of the other will be taken into
    account and not by how many places. For purposes of clarity, it shall not matter whether the athletes
    scored points toward their Series total when considering head-to-head competition.
  2. The athlete who has won the most Qualifying Races during the period.
  3. The athlete whom the majority of the Race Directors of the six Abbott World Marathon Majors determines
    to be the champion. In such circumstances, the Race Directors may decide to award the title jointly.

Prize Purse

A $100,000 prize will be split equally by the top male and female point earners in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Wheelchair Series as well.

Doping Violations

Under AWMM rules, no athlete who has been found guilty of any anti-doping rules enforced by the IAAF, World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), National Federations, or any of the individual AWMM races is eligible to win the AWMM championship title.

Athletes must comply with the AWMM Code of Conduct. Athletes who at any time have been found to have committed a criminal offense involving drugs or to have violated any rules or regulations (including drug and anti-doping policies) of USA Track & Field (USATF), United States Anti-Doping Agency (USADA), World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA), the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), the Abbott World Marathon Majors (AWMM), or other athletics governing body, are not invited by the Boston Athletic Association to participate in the Boston Marathon. Any such athletes applying for entry on their own (with a valid, current qualifying marathon performance and payment of the required entry fee) are not eligible for elite athlete status, prize money, financial assistance, performance bonuses, or other awards from the Boston Athletic Association.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This