Men’s Open: Lemi Berhanu Hayle (ETH), 2:12:45
Women’s Open: Atsede Baysa (ETH), 2:29:19
Men’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Marcel Hug (SUI), 1:24:06
Women’s Push Rim Wheelchair: Tatyana McFadden (USA), 1:42:16

120th Boston Marathon Synopsis

For the first time in race history, Ethiopia swept the top spots on the podium. Boston Marathon rookie Lemi Berhanu Hayle took advantage of a crystal clear day, running away from defending champion Lelisa Desisa before breaking the tape in 2:12:45. Atsede Baysa stormed back from being 37-seconds behind at 35K to win the women’s race going away in 2:29:19, defeating runner-up Tirfi Tsegaye by 44 seconds. Desisa pushed the pace in front of the men’s contest beginning at mile 16, joined only by Hayle. The pair would race side by side until Fenway Park came into view, when Hayle made the deciding move at an elite fluid station with a mile left. For Baysa, the winning surge also came with little over a mile remaining. Falling behind in Newton, Baysa never gave up and began to chip away at the very large lead approaching Boston. Running a 16:43 5K split from 35 to 40K, Baysa soon found herself well out in front and destined for first place. On the 50th anniversary of Bobbi Gibb’s pioneering run to become the first woman to complete the Boston Marathon, Baysa gifted her Champions’ Trophy to Gibb; Gibb served as the event’s Grand Marshal. This year’s race also kicked off Abbott World Marathon Majors Series X, which will conclude at the 2017 Boston Marathon.


Name Time
1. Lemi Berhanu Hayle (21, ETH) 2:12:45
2. Lelisa Desisa (26, ETH) 2:13:32
3. Yemane Adhane Tsegay (31, ETH) 2:14:02
4. Wesley Korir (33, KEN) 2:14:05
5. Paul Lonyangata (23, KEN) 2:15:45
6. Sammy Kitwara (29, KEN) 2:16:43
7. Stephen Chebogut (31, KEN) 2:16:52
8. Abdi Nageeye (27, NED) 2:18:05
9. Getu Feleke (29, ETH) 2:18:46
10. Zachary Hine (28, TX) 2:21:37


Name Time
1. Atsede Baysa (29, ETH) 2:29:19
2. Tirfi Tsegaye (31, ETH) 2:30:03
3. Joyce Chepkirui (27, KEN) 2:30:50
4. Jelena Prokopcuka (39, LAT) 2:32:28
5. Valentine Kipketer (23, KEN) 2:33:13
6. Flomena Cheyech Daniel (33, KEN) 2:33:40
7. Buzunesh Deba (28, ETH) 2:33:56
8. Fate Tola (28, ETH) 2:34:38
9. Neely Spence Gracey (26, CO) 2:35:00
10. Mamitu Daska (32, ETH) 2:37:31